COBURG 24 HOUR CARNIVAL, HAROLD STEVENS ATHLETICS TRACK, COBURG, 22-23 APRIL 2017

A total of 38 athletes (27 runners and 11 walkers) toed the line for the 10AM Saturday start on Saturday 22nd April 2017. Conditions certainly varied. Saturday afternoon saw sunny and warm conditions before a change came through, dumping a huge downpour of rain on the track in the late evening. From then on, intermittent rain made conditions tricky. And to add to the fun, the mist rolled in overnight from the Merri Creek, blanketing track and competitors in a dense fog. So it was certainly not boring!

The 24H Run saw clear wins to **Donna Urquhart** (204.607km) and **John Yoon** (225.611). Both were also big PBs and brought two new exciting runners to the forefront of our attention. **Justin Scholz** also bettered the 200km mark with a well judged 203.093km.

24 Hour Run Women			
1.	Donna Urquhart	VIC	203.607 km
2.	Annabel Hepworth	NSW	173.971 km
3.	Sarah Barnett	SA	143.970 km
4.	Cassie Smith	QLD	98.911 km
5.	Sharon Kerson	USA	42.627 km
24 Hou	r Run Men		
1.	John Yoon	VIC	225.611 km
2.	Justin Scholz	VIC	203.093 km
3.	Doug Richardson	NSW	180.839 km
4.	-	VIC	172.497 km
5.	Shaun Moore	VIC	162.035 km
6.	George Mihalakellis	VIC	161.633 km
7.	Dean Metcalf	TAS	147.200 km
8.	John Donovan	NSW	146.143 km
9.	Corey Elms	VIC	146.000 km
10.	Hugh Hunter	VIC	127.467 km
11.	Tony Wilms	VIC	120.396 km
12.	Daragh O'Loughlin	VIC	120.000 km
13.	George Alexandropoulos	VIC	114.800 km
14.	Nick Baff	VIC	100.000 km
15.	Gabor Jakus	VIC	96.800 km
16.	Peter Gray	VIC	73.288 km
17.	James Sylvester	ACT	63.600 km
18.	Aidan Berg	VIC	60.010 km
19.	Bernd Meyer	VIC	42.400 km

The 24 Hour Walk division saw wins to **Dawn Parris** (137.805km) and **Ivo Majetic** (160.934km). Ivo was the only walker to reach the 100 mile mark, achieved in a time of 21:30:55, to become Australian Centurion number 71. Satisfied with this outcome, he then retired from the race.

24 Hour Walk Women				
1.	Dawn Parris	64	VIC	137.805 km
2.	Kate Sanderson	41	VIC	100.358 km
3.	Lorraine Billett	71	SA	92.105 km
A 4 H	XX7 11 X <i>4</i>			
24 Hou	r Walk Men			
1.	Ivo Majetic	48	USA	160.934 km
2.	Louis Commins	67	VIC	130.088 km
3.	John Timms	74	VIC	119.306 km
4.	Colin Heywood	62	NT	100.773 km
5.	Robin Whyte (C29)	75	NSW	100.773 km
6.	Terry O'Neill (C18)	61	VIC	100.358 km
7.	John Kilmartin (C67)	65	VIC	51.423 km
8.	Ken Carter	64	VIC	15.616 km

The walk also hosted the Racewalking Australia 100km walk championships, with wins also going to Ivo and Dawn.

RWA 100km Walk Championship Men			
1.	Ivo Majetic	ŪSA	12:06:56
2.	Terry O'Neill	VIC	13:03:04
3.	Colin Heywood	NT	13:53:28

RWA 100km Walk Championship Women

1.	Dawn Parris	VIC	15:55:31
2.	Kate Sanderson	VIC	21:11:47

Finally, a number of masters walking records were provisionally set as follows by Lorraine Billett (W70), Robin Whyte (M75) and Ivo Majetic (M45)

Lorraine Billet	50 Miles	W70 All-Comers/Residential	18:42:40
Lorraine Billet	24 Hours	W70 All-Comers/Residential	92.105 km
Robin Whyte	50 Miles	M75 All-Comers/Residential	10:55:16
Robin Whyte	12 Hours	M75 All-Comers/Residential	85.997 km
Ivo Majetic	100 km	M45 All-Comers	12:06:56
Ivo Majetic	6 Hours	M45 All-Comers	52.914 km
Ivo Majetic	12 Hours	M45 All-Comers	99.170 km

A final note of thanks to the many people who deserve special mention

- The many Coburg Harriers members and friends who help us out every year
- Masseur extraordinaire Michael Gillan
- Guest starter Tony Mangan (Tony is in transit on a round-the-world walk)
- First aid support Billy Pearce and Liz Ravalli
- Canteen coordinators Heather Collyer and Debbie Canal
- · Major sponsor Philip van Dueren of Outdoor Travel Melbourne / Top Ten Treks
- Our 24 Hour Committee, ably led by Bernie Goggin



Ivo Majetic, Louis Commins, Robyn Whyte and John Timms



Dawn Parris, Kate Sanderson, Lorraine Billett and Colin Heywood (photos Tim Erickson)

Tim Erickson May 2017