

COBURG 6 HOUR CHAMPIONSHIPS SUNDAY 6 MARCH 2016



Results and Race Report - 2016 Coburg 6 Hour Championships

Another great set of results from the 2016 Coburg 6 Hour Championships, contested on Sunday 6th March at the Harold Stevens Reserve in Coburg. The 6AM start time proved its worth once again as the early cloud made for ideal running conditions until the sun broke through around 10AM, in conditions almost identical to last year. The last 2 hours saw the temperature quickly climb but everyone was able to knuckle down in the sunny conditions and see it out.

As usual, runners were allocated to lane 1 and walkers were allocated to lane 3. This worked well. We also used a chip system for lap recording, thanks to Robyn and Brett Saxon of TrailsPlus.

6 Hour Run

The Men's 6 Hour Run Championship was a ripper with Francesco Ciancio giving a running lesson to all present. Last year, he came 2^{nd} with 83.695km, beating the current Australian record but having to play second fiddle to Dion Finocchiro who won with 85.037km. This time he was out to make amends and that he did, powering through to a new Australian Open and M35 6 Hour record of 85.265km. Behind him, Kevin Muller was on his own record breaking mission and he was also successful, bettering Yiannis Kouros' M45 record distance of 78.400km with a masterful 80.681km.

The Women's 6 Hour Run Championship saw an inaugural win to Amelia Griffith in her first track ultra. Although a new runner on the ultra scene, Amelia is a real talent and confirmed her credentials with an excellent 70.945km.



Francesco Ciancio, Kevin Muller and Stuart Hughes



Amelia Griffith, Lynne Maughan and Sharon Scholz

6 Hour Walk

The 6 Hour Walk Championships saw record breaking wins to Clarrie Jack and Michelle Thompson. Clarrie, having turned 70 recently, made short work of the current M70 6 Hour walk record of 50.741km, powering through to 512.227km. Michelle, a perennial winner here at Coburg, was the fastest walker overall and her winning distance of 55.782km bettered her W45 record distance of 55.731km and was only 83m short of her Australian Open record.

We also added a 2 person relay category this year to enable long time supporters Terry and Karyn O'Neill to participate. Walking in relay legs of 1 hour, they completed a distance of 50.974km.



Clarrie Jack, John Kilmartin and Albin Hess



Michelle Thompson, Sandra Howorth and Liz Wrigley

All 4 winners showed how such an event should be tackled, with hourly laps splits of great consistency.

Francesco Ciancio	36, 36, 36, 35, 34 and 37 laps
Amelia Griffith	30, 32, 29, 29, 29 and 28 laps
Clarrie Jack	21, 21, 21, 20, 20 and 20 laps
Michelle Thompson	22, 23, 23, 23, 21 and 22 laps.

Thanks to our many volunteers and helpers, especially first aider Elizabeth Ravalli and sports massueur extraordinaire Michael Gillan. Thanks also to the many Coburg Harriers helpers, support crews and supporters and thanks especially to all our competitors who made the event so successful once again.

Important links are as follows:

Results and Lap Splits:http://www.coburg24hr.org/24hr/Photos (to be uploaded ASAP):http://www.coburg24hr.org/24hr/

Our next event will be the Coburg 24 Hour Track Championships (incorporating the AURA Australian Track championships) on the weekend of 16-17 April and we look forward to welcoming many of our 6 Hour field back for their next challenge.

Kind regards

Tim Erickson For the Coburg 24 Hour Committee

6 Hour Run Men			
1. Francesco Ciancio	VIC	85.265 km	Aust Open/M35 Record
2. Kevin Muller	NSW	80.681 km	Aust M45 Record
3. Stuart Hughes	VIC	69.461 km	
4. Omar Farooq	VIC	67.742 km	
5. Shane Lawtey	VIC	65.984 km	
6. Gabor Jakus	VIC	64.892 km	
7. Peter Black	VIC	64.405 km	
8. David Jennings	VIC	64.261 km	
9. Mal Gamble	VIC	64.256 km	
10. Simon Austin	VIC	62.192 km	
11. John Winterburn	VIC	60.681 km	
12. Trevor Marsh	VIC	60.027 km	
13. Tim Green	TAS	58.913 km	
14. Xavier Meade	VIC	53.600 km	
15. Rohit Sharma	VIC	49.793 km	
16. David Wilson	VIC	30.400 km	
17. Jonathon Aspey	VIC	18.400 km	
6 Hour Run Women			
1. Amelia Griffith	VIC	70.945 km	
2. Lynne Maughan	VIC	62.598 km	
3. Sharon Scholz	VIC	60.684 km	
4. Emmy Nanscawen	VIC	35.035 km	
5. Cherise Bell	VIC	25.600 km	
6 Hour Walk Men			
1. Clarrie Jack	VIC	51.227 km	Aust M70 Record
2. John Kilmartin	VIC	47.338 km	11000111,01100010
3. Albin Hess	VIC	45.063 km	
4. Saul Richardson	NSW	43.313 km	
5. Gary Turner	VIC	39.155 km	
6. Louis Commins	VIC	37.015 km	
7. Ian Hoad	VIC	36.642 km	
8. Ken Carter	VIC	23.463 km	
6 Hour Walk Women			
1. Michelle Thompson	VIC	55.782 km	Aust W45 Record
2. Sandra Howorth	VIC	42.021 km	
3. Liz Wrigley	VIC	39.160 km	
6 Hour Walk Relay 1. O'Neill Team	WIC	50.974 km	
1. O'Neill Team	VIC	30.974 Km	