COBURG 24 HOUR TRACK CARNIVAL, COBURG, 16-17 APRIL 2016

The 2016 Coburg 24 Hour Carnival was held as usual in mid April in Coburg. I was there for the duration and, with 31 runners and 17 walkers circulating around the 400m track, it was a great sight which provided its usual amount of high drama. Like the last few years, we once again hosted the AURA Australian 24 Hour Track Run championships as well as the Australian Centurions Qualifier.

Conditions were better than last year when we had to endure long hours of heavy overnight rain. This time around, cool daytime conditions (temperatures around 20°C) and brisk overnight conditions (temperatures around 11°C), combined with what could only be described as light winds and the occasional misty drizzle, provided just nearly ideal conditions for everyone and consequently there were a number of PBs and some big totals.

The men's 24 Hour run was a race in two parts. **Francesco Ciancio**, who won our Coburg 6H the previous month in an Australian Open record of 85.265km, dominated the early stages as he timetrialled to a 100km split of 7:22:43, a time which will hopefully see him in the Australian team for this year's IAU 100km World Championships. Then it was left to the tough men to take us through the night and into Sunday morning. There were no surprises with the first 3 placings as **Kevin Muller** won with 242.240km (an 14km PB), ahead of a resurgent **Rick Cooke** with 233.320km (a PB of 7km) and **Anth Courtney** with 214.247km (not far outside his PB and great considering this was his first serious run since semi-retiring in 2012). **Peter Black** ran an inspired race to add 25km to his PB, finishing 4th with 191.994km, **Rohan Day** was 5th with 191.282km in his first ever 24H run and **George Mihalakellis** took sixth with a huge PB of 185.565, only 4 weeks after finishing the inaugural Canberra 48H event.

24 Hour Run Men

1.	Kevin Muller	NSW	242.240 km
2.	Rick Cooke	VIC	233.320 km
3.	Anth Courtney	NSW	214.247 km
4.	Peter Black	VIC	191.994 km
5.	Rohan Day	VIC	191.282 km
6.	George Mihalakellis	VIC	185.565 km
7.	Wayne Botha	NZ	181.299 km
8.	Simon Austin	VIC	172.194 km
9.	Philip Balnave	NSW	171.200 km
10.	Simon Roberts	VIC	165.084 km
11.	Phill Dernee	NSW	162.000 km
12.	Jon Lim	VIC	162.000 km
13.	Gabor Jakus	VIC	157.452 km
14.	Bill Beauchamp	VIC	152.439 km
15.	Peter Munns	VIC	151.807 km
16.	Warren Burke	VIC/NZ	137.681 km
17.	Tony Wilms	VIC	130.356 km
18.	Mal Gamble	VIC	128.000 km
19.	Dylan Atkinson	VIC	126.671 km
20.	Bill Deering	VIC	122.012 km
21.	Dean Metcalf	TAS	121.227 km
22.	Rohit Sharma	VIC	120.568 km
23.	Francesco Ciancio	VIC	118.800 km
24.	Chris Knowles	QLD	107.200 km
25.	Angelo Portelli	VIC	106.771 km
26.	Peter Gray	VIC	68.087 km
27.	Jono Aspey	VIC	36.400 km









Kevin Muller, Rick Cooke, Anth Courtney and Peter Black







Francesco Ciancio, Rohan Day and George Mihalakellis

The women's 24 Hour was also a race in two parts. **Nadine Barnes**, better known as a very accomplished mountain and trail runner, was attempting her first track ultra and quickly built up a big lead on the other contestants. She passed the 12 Hour mark with 122.400km, some 6km ahead of her nearest rival, and was looking cool, calm and collected. Yet just over 2 hours later, she was forced to retire from the race with a total distance of 141.600km. At much the same time, second placed **Kerrie Bremner** also retired from the race, job done. In her first 12 hours, she had set set new Australian W50 records for 50 Miles (7:54:44), 100km (9:59:31) and 12 Hours (117.136km). An impressive run!. That left **Sharon Scholz** out in front and her finish was never in doubt. Her final distance of 192.217km was a welcome return to form after a series of niggling injuries over the last few years.

24 Hour Run Women

1.	Sharon Scholz	VIC	192.217 km
2.	Nadine Barnes	VIC	141.600 km
3.	Larissa Tichon	NSW	127.636 km
4.	Kerrie Bremner	VIC	124.400 km







Nadine Barnes, Sharon Scholz and Kerrie Bremner

The 24 Hour walkers staged their own race out in lane 3 (except for Michelle Thompson who matched it with the runners in lane 1). Our three overseas walkers Sandra de Graaff, Bertus van Ginkel and Rob Robertson walked impressively, lapping consistently one behind the other for almost the entire race until Rob kicked clear towards the end. It was wonderful to watch and I can honestly say it is the first time I have seen this sort of thing done over such an extended timeframe. Rob's blog at http://www.walk100miles24hours.com/2016/04/17/2016-australian-centurion-qualifier/#comment-120 makes for great reading. The final results showed Michelle winning the women's walk with 173.200km and Rob winning the men's walk with 163.462km. With 12 of the walkers in excess of 100km, it was a strong field.

24 F	Iour	· Walk Men				
	1.	Rob Robertson	53	USA	163.462 km	C68 **
	2.	Albertus Van Ginkel	55	NED	160.934 km	C69 **
	3.	Louis Commins	67	VIC	134.003 km	
	4.	John Timms	53	VIC	126.953 km	
	5.	Albin Hess	56	VIC	123.316 km	First timer
	6.	Brendan Young	49	VIC	108.891 km	First timer
	7.	Phil Essam	54	ACT	103.086 km	
	8.	Robin Whyte	74	ACT	102.017 km	C29
	9.	John Kilmartin	64	VIC	98.858 km	C67
	10.	Saul Richardson	43	NSW	82.940 km	
	11.	Clarrie Jack	70	VIC	12.856 km	C4
	12.	Ken Carter	63	VIC	11.395 km	
24 F	lour	· Walk Women				
	1.	Michelle Thompson	47	VIC	173.200 km	C58
	2.	Sandra De Graaff	48	NED	161.349 km	C70 **
	3.	Dawn Parris	63	VIC	133.251 km	
	4.	Val Chesterton	75	ACT	118.696 km	PB 3.118 km
	5.	Sandra Howorth	53	VIC	57.408 km	

Overall we had 4 walkers who walked 100 miles or more in the required 24 hour period. For local walker **Michelle Thompson**, it was yet another successful hundred (her fourth) but for USA's **Rob Robertson** and for Dutch walkers **Sandra de Graaff** and **Bertus van Ginkel**, it was their first in Australia and hence an Australian Centrion badge to add to their existing collection – Rob is an American Centurion and Sandra and Bertus have Continental and English Centurion badges. They become Australian Centurions C68, C69 and C70 for their gallant efforts.

Michelle Thompson	AUS	C58	20:28:57
Rob Robertson	USA	C68	23:13:53
Sandra de Graaff	NED	C69	23:45:32
Bertus van Ginkel	NED	C70	23:46:36

We did have a number of records broken. As usual, Michelle Thompson chipped away at her Australian Open Residential records, setting two new ones as follows, before she showed down and enjoyed the second half at a more leisurely pace.

Michelle Thompson	Australian Open Record (Residential)	100km	11:38:04
Michelle Thompson	Australian Open Record (Residential)	12 Hours	103.217km

The other record breaker was 75 year old **Val Chesterton** of ACT Race Walking Club in Canberra. Val last walked in our 24 Hour qualifier in 2009, setting a PB of **115.578km**. Now 6 years later and at 75 years of age, she has bettered that time with 118.696km. As no W75 woman has ever walked 50km or further, she will set inaugural W75 Australian records for 50km, 50 Miles, 100km, 12 Hours and 24 Hours – now that is pretty impressive stuff.

The meet also included the annual Racewalking Australia 100km track walk championships, decided by the order in which the walkers passed that milestone. Placings are as follows

Australian 100 km Track Walk Championship Men

1.	Rob Robertson	USA	14:05:11
2.	Albertus van Ginkel	NED	14:12:38
3.	Robin Whyte	ACT	15:40:06

Australian 100 km Track Walk Championship Women

Michelle Thompson VIC 11:36:29
Sandra de Graaff NED 14:12:38
Dawn Parris VIC 17:01:42









Placegetters Michelle Thompson, Sandra de Graaff, Bertus van Ginkel. Rob Robertson, Dawn Parris and Louis Commins







New Australian Centurions finishing their hundreds - Rob Robertson (C68), Sandra de Graff (C69) and Bertus van Ginkel (C70)

Tim Erickson Friday 13 May 2016



100km+ to John Timms, Robin Whyte, Val Chesterton, Phil Essam, Brendon Young and Albin Hess