2015 COBURG 24 HOUR CHAMPIONSHIPS, COBURG, VICTORIA, 18-19 APRIL 2015

It is my pleasant duty to report on the 27th annual Coburg 24 Hour Championships which were held at the Harold Stevens Athletics Track in Coburg (Melbourne) on the weekend of 18-19 April 2015. The event also hosted the AURA Australian 24 Hour Track Running Championships as well as the Australian Centurion Walkers annual qualifying event.

The event was subscribed to capacity with entries closing at the designated maximum of 60. As it turned out, we had a number of late withdrawals and a final field of 49 competitors (36 runners and 13 walkers) toed the line for the 10AM start on the Saturday morning.

After a pleasant first few hours of racing, the weather turned ugly, raining for some 5 hours in the early evening, and from then on, conditions remained cold with further showers. The attrition rate was high with a number of entrants having to take time off the track or, in some cases, stopping completely.

But with all that said, the standard was very high with 7 runners over 200km and 12 in excess of 100 miles (and that is with all our top runners at the World 24 Hour Championships in Italy).

The 6 Hour mark saw WA runner Paul Hopwood already in the lead with 66.4km, nearly 2km ahead of Mal Gamble and Justin Scholz. By the 12 hour mark, Mal had nearly bridged the gap, Paul reaching the half way mark with 124.4km, Mal only one lap in arrears and Daragh O'Loughlin a further 3 laps back in third. The stage looked set for a great second half as Mal continued to close the gap over the next hour. But that was as close as he got and he was forced to slow after the 13 hour mark. That left Paul on his own out front and he ran on strongly for a huge PB final distance of 229.873km. Daragh O'Loughlin 225.871km and Rob Mason 216.887km filled the minor places, also with big PBs. The WA runners filled 1st, 4th and 6th spots, a great effort.

24 Hour Run Men

-	Loui	Itun Mich		
	1.	Paul Hopwood	WA	229.873 km
	2.	Daragh O'Loughlin	VIC	225.871 km
	3.	Rob Mason	NSW	$216.887\;km$
	4.	Ben Treasure	WA	207.335 km
	5.	Chris Knowles	QLD	200.810 km
	6.	Shaun Kaesler	WA	186.315 km
	7.	Joe Lewis	VIC	183.844 km
	8.	Peter Black	VIC	166.802 km
	9.	Malcolm Gamble	VIC	158.800 km
	10.	Shane James	TAS	156.217 km
	11.	Leigh D'Arcy	QLD	151.965 km
	12.	Kerry Clapham	VIC	150.408 km
	13.	Dean O'Mara	QLD	146.930 km
	14.	Tony Wilms	VIC	134.989 km
	15.	Trevor Allen	QLD	132.000 km
	16.	Graeme Watts	QLD	128.512 km
	17.	Justin Scholz	VIC	122.400 km
	18.	Ken Marsh	VIC	106.400 km
	19.	Dean Metcalf	TAS	94.137 km
	20.	Trevor Marsh	VIC	92.400 km
	21.	James Sylvester	ACT	86.800 km
	22.	George Mihalakellis	VIC	82.940 km
	23.	Peter Gray	VIC	76.139 km
	24.	Robert Knowles	QLD	65.600 km
	25.	Warren Holst	VIC	64.000 km
	26.	Barry McBride	SA	62.800 km
	27.	Rikus Slabbert	VIC	62.620 km
	28.	Brett Easton	ACT	26.800 km







Paul Hopwood, Daragh O'Loughlin and Rob Mason

Nikki Wynd went straight to the lead in the women's 24 Hour run, covering 60km in the first 6 hours and continuing on in fine style from there on. Isobal Bespalov was in second place at this stage with 58.4km but she was soon to retire, bequeathing second place to Nicole Barker. The positions remained unchanged over the next 6 hours with Nikki passing the 12 hour mark with 113.2km ahead of Nicole with 111.6km and Sabina Hamity with 106km. As for the men, positions remained unchanged from then on, Nikki eventually winning with 221.113km ahead of Nicole 213.573 and Sabina 192.499km.

24 Hour Run Women

1.	Nikki Wynd	VIC	221.113 km
2.	Nicole Barker	VIC	213.573 km
3.	Sabina Hamaty	NSW	192.499 km
4.	Agni Ziogos	VIC	161.207 km
5.	Kati Bell	USA	138.177 km
6.	Annabel Hepworth	NSW	135.699 km
7.	Cassie Smith	QLD	80.000 km
8.	Isobel Bespalov	VIC	73.600 km







Nikki Wynd, Nicole Barker and Sabina Hamaty

The walk divisions, although a lot smaller than the run division, also produced some excellent performances, ably led by local Victorian walker John Kilmartin who achieved the 100 mile walk milestone with a time of 21:11:56, thus becoming Australian Centurion number 67. He was one of a number of of record breakers on the day

•	Michelle Thompson	Open 100km Residential	11:38:04
•	Michelle Thompson	Open 12 Hours Residential	103.209 km
•	Michelle Thompson	Open & W45 100km All-Comers/Residential	11:38:04
•	Michelle Thompson	Open & W45 12 Hours All-Comers/Residential	102.209 km
•	John Kilmartin	M60 100 Miles All-Comers/Residential	21:11:56
•	Val Chesterton	W70 50km All-Comers/Residential	Inaugural: 9:04:47
•	Val Chesterton	W70 12 Hours All-Comers/Residential	Inaugural: 63.776 km
•	Val Chesterton	W70 24 Hours All-Comers/Residential	Inaugural: 63.684 km
•	Karyn O'Neill	W60 12 Hours Residential	83.864 km

The walking event was a race of 2 halves. The first 12 hours was dominated by **Michelle Thompson** as she powered through, well ahead of anyone else and on record pace. She was rewarded with Australian Open records for 100km (11:38:04) and 12 Hours (103.209km), performances which only a small number of Aussie men have ever matched. She then stopped to have her feet checked and decided on advice to retire as the rain had wreaked havoc with her toes and it was a case of stop now or do more damage. From then on, it was the **John Kilmartin** show as he powered through to his 100 miles with almost unbelievable consistency, never more than 1-2 secs variation from lap to lap. His 50 mile splits tell the story: 10:33 followed by 10:38 for a 100 mile time of 21:11:56. He then walked a couple of extra laps for insurance purposes and called it quits, job done for the day. Other walk record breakers included **Karyn O'Neill** (a new W60 12H record of 83.864 km) and **Val Chesterton** who set inaugural W70 records for 50km, 12 Hours and 24 Hours.









John Kilmartin, Michelle Thompson, Val Chesterton and Karyn O'Neill

24 Hour Walk Men

1.	John Kilmartin (C67)	VIC	161.734 km
2.	Chris Kelly	VIC	131.413 km
3.	Saul Richardson	NSW	127.825 km
4.	Louis Commins	NSW	110.102 km
5.	Laurie Tinson	VIC	101.602 km
6.	Robin Whyte (C29)	ACT	100.773 km
7.	Clarrie Jack (C4)	VIC	46.861 km
8.	Ian Hoad	VIC	43.958 km
9.	Ken Carter	VIC	41.470 km

24 Hour Walk Women

1.	Karyn O'Neill (C45)	VIC	133.534 km
2.	Diana Kelly	WA	128.827 km
3.	Michelle Thompson (C	58) VIC	106.000 km
4.	Val Chesterton	ACT	63.864 km

The carnival also hosted a number of other championships which are recorded below:

AURA Australian 24 Hour Track Championship Men

1.	Paul Hopwood	WA	229.873
2.	Daragh O'Loughlin	VIC	225.871
3.	Rob Mason	NSW	216.887

AURA Australian 24 Hour Track Championship Women

1.	Nikki Wynd	VIC	221.113
2.	Nicole Barker	VIC	213.573
3.	Sabina Hamaty	NSW	192.499

Victorian 24 Hour Track Championship

1. Paul Hopwood WA 229.873

Australian 100 km Track Walk Championship Men

1.	John Kilmartin	VIC	13:03:50
2.	Robin Whyte	ACT	13:59:00
3.	Chris Kelly	VIC	16:15:20

Australian 100 km Track Walk Championship Women

1.	Michelle Thompson	VIC	11:38:04
2.	Karyn O'Neill	VIC	17:01:23
3.	Diana Kelly	WA	18:25:13

Our two perpetual trophies were won by Shane James and John Kilmartin

Coburg 24 Hour Endurance Award Shane James

Australian Centurions Jack Webber Trophy John Kilmartin

Results: http://www.coburg24hr.org/24hr/files/
Photos: http://www.coburg24hr.org/24hr/files/

Special thanks to

- Long term sponsor Phil van Dueren from Top Ten Treks for his usual great support
- Brett and Robyn Saxon of Trails+ who looked after all our timing needs
- Michael Gillan for his fantastic masseur work as always
- Billy Pearce and Liz Ravalli for their great first aid coverage
- The many volunteers and supporters who come back every year to help us run our event
- The crews who so ably look after all our race entrants

See you all next year - same time, same place.

Tim Erickson

For the Coburg 24 Hour Committee