Coburg 6 Hour Track Championships, George Knott Athletics Track, Clifton Hill, Sunday 8 March 2015

Another great set of results from the Coburg 6 Hour Championships, contested on Sunday 8th March at the Collingwood Harriers track at Clifton Hill. The 6AM start time proved its worth once again as the early cloud made for ideal conditions and the sun did not break through until some time after 10AM. The last 2 hours saw the temperature quickly climb but everyone was able to knuckle down in the sunny conditions and see it out.

The Men's 6 Hour Run Championship was a ripper with a high quality field of 27, including some of our rising stars. Little separated Francesco Ciancio, Dion Finocchiro and Barry Keem throughout the race, with the lead changing more than once. But it was Dion who came home the strongest, winning with 85.037km, ahead of Francesco with 83.695km and Barry with 83.511km, ensuring that the Australian Open 6 Hour Track Record of 83.600km (held jointly by Yiannis Kouros and Trevor Jacocs) was erased from the books. As an indication of depth, the first 10 all ran in excess of 70km. It is not often we see that in Australia.

The Women's 6 Hour Run Championship saw Nikki Wynd and Sonia McDermott matching it early but, as the race progressed, Nikki gradually drew clear, eventually winning with 71.914km to Sonia's 68.094km.

The 6 Hour Walk Championships saw wins to Michelle Thompson with 55.073km and Robin Whyte with 50.741km and Australian Walk age group records to ACT partnership Robin Whyte (M70-74 50.741km) and Val Chesterton (W70-74 39.965km).

We also added a 100km Run event to the carnival and 3 runners took up the option of continuing on after the 6 Hour finished, to complete the requisite 250 laps. Barry Keen was first to finish with a very impressive 7:13:45, ahead of David Overend with 7:47:58 and Sonia McDermott with 8:54:50.

Thanks to our many volunteers and helpers and thanks to the crews and supporters and thanks especially to all our competitors who made the event so successful once again.

6 Hour Run Women

1	Wynd, Nikki	71.914 km	
2	McDermott, Sonia	68.094 km	
3	Bremner, Kerrie	63.402 km	
4	Symons, Cheryl	54.470 km	
6 Hour Run Men			
1	Finocchiro, Dion	85.037 km	
2	Ciancio, Francesco	83.695 km	
3	Keem, Barry	83.511 km	
4	Overend, David	78.548 km	
5	Mannix, Kevin	78.103 km	
6	Bretz, Kay	75.470 km	
7	Eckford, Matthew	73.922 km	
8	Gillies. Cameron	73.435 km	
9	Mason, Rob	72.820 km	
10	Calvert, Wayne	70.881 km	
11	Cooke, Rick	69.114 km	
12	O'Loughlin, Daragh	68.950 km	
13	Scholz, Justin	68.540 km	
14	Black, Peter	66.838 km	
15	Austin, Simon	63.647 km	
16	Jakus, Gabor	63.417 km	
17	Farooq, Omar	61.731 km	
18	Costa, Ricardo	61.260 km	
19	Marsh, Ken	60.226 km	
20	Marsh, Trevor	57.546 km	
21	Munns, Peter	54.890 km	
22	Slabbert, Rikus	54.182 km	
23	Clapham, Kerry	51.261 km	
24	Aspey, Jonathon	50.005 km	
25	Wilms, Tony	45.600 km	

27 27	Hoad, Ian Closter, Ross	37.492 km 15.200 km	
6 Hour Walk Women			
1	Thompson, Michelle	55.073 km	
2	O'Neill, Karyn	46.308 km	
3	Chesterton, Val	39.965 km	
6 Hour Walk Men			
1	Whyte, Robin	50.741 km	
2	Kilmartin, John	50.479 km	
3	Jack, Clarrie	46.195 km	
4	Richardson, Saul	43.492 km	
5	Turner, Gary	38.639 km	
6	Whimpey, Michael	38.247 km	
7	O'Neill, Terry	37.738 km	
8	Carter, Ken	26.111 km	
100 Km Run			
1	Keem, Barry	7:13:45	
2	Overend, David	7:47:58	
3	McDermott, Sonia	8:54:50	

Results and photo links are

Results : <u>http://www.coburg24hr.org/24hr/files/</u> Photos: <u>http://www.coburg24hr.org/coppermine/</u>

Our next event will be the Coburg 24 Hour Track Championships (incorporating the AURA Australian Track championships) on the weekend of 18-19 April and we look forward to welcoming many of our 6 Hour field back for their next challenge.

Kind regards

Tim Erickson For the Coburg 24 Hour Committee