2014 Coburg 24 Hour Championships

The 2014 Coburg 24 Hour Carnival, held at Coburg on 5-6 April, saw what was undoubtedly the highest quality 24 Hour Track race ever staged in Australia.

The carnival hosted the annual AURA 24 Hour Track Championships and the two new National Champions did themselves proud, producing huge results. In the men's run, Victorian runner Barry Loveday started conservatively but took the lead after several hours and, from then on, was never headed, passing the half way mark in around 132km and then actually negative splitting to produce a huge PB distance of 165.000km. This is the second longest ever by an Australian behind that of the the great Yiannis Kouros and was a 22km PB for Barry. In the women's run, WA runner Bernadette Benson ran similarly, starting conservatively in the warm and sunny Saturday conditions but eventually outdistancing the opposition with her new Australian record of 238.261km, more than 9km further than Helen Stanger's previous record of 229.080km. Congratulations to our AURA medallists Barry Loveday, Ewan Horsborough, Matthew Eckford, Bernadette Benson, Jodie Oborne and Nikki Wynd.

Since most places were reserved for the runners, only small walk fields contested this year's carnival but the third major highlight of the meet went to one of the walkers with Victorian Michelle Thompson setting a whole swathe of new Australian intermediate records and a final record breaking total of 190.984km.

Overall, the meet produced some 32 new records, run and walk, Australian and Canadian, Open and Age, and set a new high for Australia. Of the 48 starters, 6 achieved distances greater than 230km, 15 were in excess of 200km and 27 were in excess of 100 miles. Such depth and quality have never been seen so abundantly before.

2014 saw the Coburg Harriers team drop its manual lapscoring system in favour of a fully automated chip system, compliments of Brett and Robyn Saxon of Trails+ in Melbourne (see http://www.trailsplus.com.au). And it worked like a treat! Thanks also to our other major sponsor Phil van Duren of Top Ten Treks (www.toptentreks.com.au) and thanks to the large team of loyal event supporters who laboured behind the scenes once again to ensure this iconic event ran so smoothly.

Full results read as follows:

FEMALE	24hr	WALK
--------	------	------

7

8

Rick COOKE

Barry McBRIDE

FEN	1ALE 24hr WALK			
1	Michelle THOMPSON	190.984 km		
2	Dawn PARRIS	136.589		
3	Sandra HOWORTH	72.573		
MALE 24hr WALK				
1	Steve JORDAN	135.631 km		
2	Saul RICHARDSON	103.810		
3	Ken CARTER	42.714		
FEN	IALE 24hr RUN			
1	Bernadette BENSON	238.261 km		
2	Jodie OBORNE	212.432		
3	Nikki WYND	208.292		
4	Sharon SCHOLZ	205.170		
	Larissa TICHON	202.028		
	Nicole BARKER	193.213		
7	Sabina HAMATY	177.757		
8	Raelene BENDALL	169.279		
9	Felicity COPP	155.804		
10	Cassie SMITH	148.950		
11	Annabel HEPWORTH	106.800		
MA	LE 24hr RUN			
1	Barry LOVEDAY	265.000 km		
2	Ewan HORSBURGH			
3	Matthew ECKFORD	241.475		
4	John PEARSON	234.393		
5	Martin HACK	230.917		
6	David OVEREND	215.232		

210.280

204.685

David KENNEDY	202.423
Trevor ALLEN	202.268
Daragh O'LOUGHLIN	194.537
Kevin MULLER	187.200
Gary MULLINS	183.208
Tristan MELCHIORI	167.697
Trevor MARSH	164.199
Steven TITMUS	163.883
Michael HARVEY	162.648
Joe LEWIS	161.774
Dean METCALF	153.395
Robert KNOWLES	150.700
Wayne CRASE	146.871
Sam WEIR	144.182
Peter MULLINS	121.200
Mick THWAITES	120.400
David JONES	112.332
John NUTTALL	102.800
Billy PEARCE	100.000
Nick GLEESON	97.851
Paul WRIGHT	77.200
Peter GRAY	73.175
Jevvan McPHEE	61.200
	Daragh O'LOUGHLIN Kevin MULLER Gary MULLINS Tristan MELCHIORI Trevor MARSH Steven TITMUS Michael HARVEY Joe LEWIS Dean METCALF Robert KNOWLES Wayne CRASE Sam WEIR Peter MULLINS Mick THWAITES David JONES John NUTTALL Billy PEARCE Nick GLEESON Paul WRIGHT Peter GRAY

Tim Erickson Race Director, Coburg 24 Hour Carnival April 2014