### 2008 Coburg 24 Hour Carnival Saturday 19 April - Sunday 20 April 2008

#### Results and Race Reports - 24 Hour and 12 Hour events

This year, the Coburg 24 Hour carnival was expanded in concept and spread over 2 weekends, with the 6 Hour events being held on Sunday 30<sup>th</sup> March and the 24 Hour and the 12 Hour events being held on the weekend of 19<sup>th</sup> - 20<sup>th</sup> April.

A total of 48 walkers and runners contested the longer events this weekend. The starter's gun was fired at 10AM on Saturday morning in warm and sunny conditions. The clear blue skies continued throughout the day as temperatures quickly rose to the expected 25°C and competitors struggled to stay hydrated and cool through the long first day. Melbourne then showcased its contrasting weather patterns with overnight temperatures plummeting. Finally another warm morning allowed competitors to throw off the layers of clothing and finish in beautiful autumnal conditions.

#### Race Report - Running Events

In the Men's 24 Hour run, Tim Cochrane build up what looked like an insurmountable lead, only to retire in the early hours of the morning. Mick Francis had been content to run his own measured race and his patience paid off. Within 2 hours of Tim's retirement, he had erased the deficit and subsequently surged home to record his biggest 24 Hour distance on Australian soil – 231.258 km. John Pearson and Geoff Last also passed Tim's overall distance to take second and third places with 203.338 km and 187.925 km respectively. In a race of great depth, the first 9 runners recorded in excess of 100 miles.

By way of contrast, the Women's 24 Hour Run saw only one competitor but what a performance. Sharon Scholz had set herself the target of reaching 100 km inside 12 hours, easily beat that mark and then continued on to a final 24 Hour distance of 184.117 km. This was the first 24 Hour run for Sharon, a relative newcomer to the sport and her race was indeed impressive.

In the Men's 12 Hour run, local Melbourne runner Ken Marsh prevailed with 104.800 km ahead of Max Carson and David Brelsford. Vision impaired runner Nick Gleeson, running in lane 3, completed 72.530 km for fifth place.

In the Women's 12 Hour run, Caroline Pivetta, contesting her first long track ultra, impressed with 111.400 km while Michelle Thompson took second with a PB distance of 105.974 km.





24 Hour Run winners Mick Francis and Sharon Scholz

Results for the running sections follow.

Male 24 Hour Run		Laps	Dist	Add Dist	<b>Total Dist</b>
1	Mick Francis	57 <b>8</b>	231.200	0.058	231.258
2	John Pearson	509	203.600	0.138	203.738
3	Geoff Last	469	187.600	0.325	187.925
4	Tim Cochrane	467	186.800	0.000	186.800
5	Kelvin Marshall	455	182.000	0.039	182.039
6	Dave Sutherland (NZ)	446	178.400	0.310	178.710
7	Danny Hooley	446	178.400	0.094	178.494
8	Scott Orchard	438	175.400	0.371	175.571
9	David Eadie	413	165.200	0.314	165.514
10	Robert Boyce	384	153.600	0.238	153.838
11	Arun Bhardwaj (IND)	382	152.800	0.225	153.025
12	Tony Collins	363	145.200	0.084	145.284
13	Garry Wise	319	127.600	0.075	127.675
14	Richard McCormick	317	126.800	0.175	126.975
15	John Timms	301	120.400	0.371	120.771
16	Peter Gray	280	112.000	0.323	112.323
17	Robert Ware	277	110.800	0.237	111.037
18	Hugh Hunter (SCO)	263	105.200	0.000	105.200
19	Alan Staples	237	94.800	0.314	95.114
20	Rudi Kinshofer	216	86.400	0.000	86.400
21	Lawrie Lolait	110	44.000	0.000	44.000
Female 24 Hour Run		Laps	Dist	Add Dist	<b>Total Dist</b>
1	Sharon Scholz	461	184.400	0.117	184.517
Male 12 Hour Run		Laps	Dist	Add Dist	Total Dist
1	Ken Marsh	264	105.600	0.143	105.743
2	Max Carson	253	101.200	0.243	101.443
3	David Brelsford	226	90.400	0.388	90.788
4	Trevor Marsh	202	80.800	0.040	80.840
5	Nicholas Gleeson	174	72.140	0.390	72.530
Female 12 Hour Run		Laps	Dist	Add Dist	Total Dist
1	Caroline Pivetta	278	111.200	0.200	111.400
2	Michelle Thompson	264	105.600	0.374	105.974
-				- · <del>-</del> · ·	

# Victorian 24 Hour Track Championship

1	Mick Francis	231.258 km
2	John Pearson	203.738 km
3	Geoff Last	187 925 km

### 2008 Coburg 24 Hour Carnival Saturday 19 April - Sunday 20 April 2008

#### Race Report - Walking Events

The walks also saw strong fields and the Centurions Club was pleased to see two walkers reach in excess of 100 miles.

In the Men's 24 Hour walk, Australian Centurion **Andrew Ludwig** led from the gun and walked without any significant breaks until he reached the 100 mile mark in **22:34:20**. This was Andrew's second centurion qualifier, following on from his initial one in 1994. Behind him, ultra runner Colin Brooks added another string to his bow with a strong second place walk of 148.226 km, ahead of Centurion Pat Fisher with 145.240 km.

The Women's 24 Hour walk was an exciting affair with South Australian walker **Catherine Cox** having to dig deep in the final 6 Hours of the event, eventually reaching the 100 mile mark in **23:54:28**. Her 100 mile time was reminiscent of the 2004 walk of Graham Watt who reached the target in 23:59:23 on this same track. Graham was on hand to acknowledge the gutsy performance and welcome Cathy to the Centurion Club as Australian Centurion Number 54. Behind her, Karyn O'Neill and Sandra Howorth took the minor medals with 129.044 and 64.000 km respectively.

The Men's 12 Hour walk saw Australian M65 walk record holder Robin Whyte win with a very impressive 84.975 km, ahead of David Attrill and Gary Turner.

In the Women's 12 Hour walk, the mother and daughter combination of Dawn Parris and Leah Stringer took the honours with 78.079 and 56.811 km respectively.





24 Hour Walk winners Adnrew Ludwig (C 28) and Cathy Cox (C 54)

Results for the walking sections are as follows

Male 24 Hour Walk		Laps	Dist	<b>Add Dist</b>	<b>Total Dist</b>
1	Andrew Ludwig	404	161.600	0.000	161.600
2	Colin Brooks	370	148.000	0.226	148.226
3	Pat Fisher	363	145.200	0.040	145.240
4	Craig Welsh (NZ)	275	110.000	0.121	110.121
5	Steve Jordan	274	109.600	0.132	109.732
6	Phil Essam	219	87.600	0.125	87.725
7	Terry O'Neill	200	80.000	0.000	80.000
8	Laurie Tinson	131	52.400	0.000	52.400
9	Louis Commins	79	31.600	0.000	31.600

Female 24 Hour Walk		Laps	Dist	Add Dist	Total Dist
1	Catherine Cox	403	161.200	0.370	161.570
2	Karyn O'Neill	322	128.800	0.244	129.044
3	Sandra Howorth	160	64.000	0.000	64.000
Male 12 Hour Walk		Laps	Dist	Add Dist	<b>Total Dist</b>
1	Robin Whyte	214	85.600	0.175	85.775
2	David Attrill	178	71.200	0.294	71.494
3	Gary Turner	158	63.200	0.276	63.476
4	Ken Carter	132	52.800	0.189	52.989
5	Clarrie Jack	50	20.000	0.000	20.000
Female 12 Hour Walk		Laps	Dist	Add Dist	<b>Total Dist</b>
1	Dawn Parris	196	78.400	0.079	78.479
2	Leah Stringer	142	56.800	0.011	56.811

# Australian 100 km Championship for Men

1	Andrew Ludwig	12:28:09
2	Colin Brooks	15:12:32
3	Pat Fisher	15:29:34

Australian 100 km Championship for Women 1 Catherine Cox 14:32:52 2 Karyn O'Neill 15:26:54

# **Perpetual Trophies**

Gordon Burrowes Award: Jack Webber Trophy Phil Essam Catherine Cox