1999 COBURG 24 HOUR CHAMPIONSHIP, HAROLD STEVENS TRACK, COBURG, 8-9 MAY

The 1999 Coburg 24 Hour Championship returned to its usual April/May scheduling period, with the weekend of 8-9 May being targeted.

The race was won by Yiannis Kouros with 251.229km He entered the race with the purpose of beating some of his smaller record marks (12 hour and 100 miles) but compared with his fantastic performance at Adelaide in 1997 he never looked on target to get them during the course of the race. He left the track at the 17 hour mark with 200km to his name, almost two hours outside his Adelaide 200km record but still a long way ahead of anyone else in Australia. He came back at 7am in the morning and brought up another 51km before the bell rang at midday.

Last year's winner Helen Stanger entered the race with the intention of having a go at the women's 100 mile record but suffered a hamstring injury early in the race and sensibly withdrew by 4PM on the Saturday afternoon.

The minor placings saw an interesting battle with less than 20km separating second to sixth places. Whyalla runner Jerry Zukowski eventually finished second with 178.694km, followed by Michael Grayling, Peter Gray, Cliff Young and Andrew Lucas. Cliff once again wrote himself into the record books when he ran 147.487km to set a new M75 24 hour record. It was definitely the best performance of the race.

Two walkers lined up for the event. Centurion Mery Lockyer entered with the intention of completing a 100km training walk. He completed that with relative ease and retired just before the 18 hour mark, leaving first time walker Phil Essam to go past him and complete 111.13km in his first ultra walk effort.

All in all it was a great race. Coburg Harriers should be congratulated. It was good to see some new faces in the field and it is hoped that they can start to attract some Relay teams for the event from outside the club.

24 Hour Run

Hour Kun				
1.	YIANNIS KOUROS	628 laps	251.229 km	
2.	GERRY ZUKOWSKI	446 laps	178.694 km	
3.	MICHAEL GRAYLING	403 laps	161.208 km	
4.	PETER GRAY	378 laps	151.520 km	
5.	CLIFF YOUNG	368 laps	147.487 km	
6.	ANDREW LUCAS	364 laps	145.986 km	
7.	VICTOR HESSELL	335 laps	134.400 km	
8.	SAK KETSAKIDIS	317 laps	127.000 km	
9.	OHN TIMMS	284 laps	113.711 km	
10.	PHIL ESSAM	272 laps	109.032 km (walker)	
11.	MERV LOCKYER	251 laps	100.400 km (walker)	
12.	SHAYNE WALTHERS	152 laps	60.800 km	
13.	TIM ERICKSON	101 laps	40.400 km	
14.	HELEN STANGER	87 laps	34.800 km	
Hour Team Relay				

24 Hour Team Relay

1.	YOUNG GUNS	720 laps	288.214 km
2.	COBURG HARRIERS	717 laps	286.873 km
3.	LITTLE ATHLETICS	573 laps	229.360 km