## 1994 COBURG 24 HOUR CARNIVAL, HAROLD STEVENS TRACK, COBURG, 16-17 APRIL

The new Coburg management team were keen to make whatever changes were required to ensure the event continued. The timing was moved from February to April in an effort to escape the traditional hot weather of late summer. Gordon Burrowes also added a full 24 Hour Relay division, allowing open entry for relay teams of ten runners. Each runner in the team was to run for 30 minutes before passing the baton onto the next member of the team. This meant that each member would run 4 or 5 times over the 24 hours. The event was still badged as the Victorian 24 Hour Track Championship but was now called the Coburg 24 Hour Carnival.

The changes proved successful with 13 ultra runners and 11 relay teams entering the 1994 carnival. Russian Igor Streltstov was the winner of the 24 hour with 221 km and Victorian Sandra Kerr was the first of the women with 154.600 km. Yan Yean Road Runners won the relay event with a massive 355.033 km.

24 Hour Run		Laps	+ metres	Kilometres
1.	Igor Streltsov (Russia)	553	004.9	221.204 km
2.	Joe Skrobolak	514	004.7	205.604 km
3.	Peter Gray	507	359.2	203.159 km
4.	Sandra Kerr	386	200.5	154.600 km
5.	Cliff Young	382	255.7	153.055 km
6.	Michael Grayling	366	170.6	146.570 km
7.	Godfrey Pollard	344	338.1	137.938 km
8.	Arthur O'Keefe	307	328.3	123.128 km
Veterans Teams 24 Hour Challenge Relay				
1.	Yan Yean Road Runners	887	223.5	355.033 km
2.	Aberfeldie Vets	859	169.4	343 769 km
3.	Coburg Harriers Vets 1	839	0.5	335.600 km
4.	Burwood Vets	811	125.5	324.525 km
5.	Croydon Vets	789	349.8	315.949 km
6.	Coburg Harriers Vets 2	721	185.5	288.585 km
7.	Altona Vets	710	118.4	264.118 km

## **Relay Rules:**

Runners must run for a minimum of 20 minutes and then finish the current lap